Endwalker: My First FFXIV Full Expansion Cycle

As you probably know, I started playing FFXIV for real in Shadowbringers, 6 months before the current Endwalker expansion release. Obviously, this time was occupied by catching up, so that I came to the launch all leveled and MSQ done – and I did. Yet I didn’t manage to dive into any Shadowbringrs current raiding or other activities. So, Endwalker would be my first expansion that I followed since launch night and until the final patch and raid that came out this Autumn.

Technically, a LOT of Endwalker was still dedicated to catching up. I have 2 alts that I develop equally for variety reasons and because I’d be very unhappy NOT to play either my mi’qote or lalafell (that is, you could say they are both my “main”).

I leveled all combat jobs on both (and there is still a small bit to go, the final 100 levels out of 1710). I explored and leveled crafting and gathering – level cap on every “peaceful” job. I did all the previous raiding stories and unlocked every encounter for roulettes. I explored all maps and completed every side quest. I completed every Custom Delivery character including the latest Margrat (finalizing Ehll Tou and Charlemend next reset, and done). I leveled every Tribal reputation, and there’s just ARR/vanilla tribes to go, which are entertaining and super fast. Finally, I’m almost done leveling retainers (your bank and auction guys which can also passively bring different useful stuff from their “ventures”) – 85 and up as we speak. And housing – I purchased and furnished two very different and cozy apartments :)

No wonder I had very little time for other games – even those that I want to play a lot. Everything is being put off until I finish my catch up grand endeavor, and luckily that happens very soon – I’m looking at January. It’s 12 years of content, and I could finally say that I chewed and digested it all :)

And with all this extreme amount of stuff to do, I still managed to keep up with Endwalker patch content. The cadence is simple: every next patch brings in the sequel for the main story, a new raid wing (which are always side stories) and some auxiliary stuff to do.

Mind you, none of this is obligatory except for completing the next piece of story which could be done in 1 sit. Unlike WoW, you don’t need to grind reputations – nothing is locked behind them except some vanity goods and their own stories. Unlike WoW, you don’t need to raid or gear up, really: if you wish, you could just buy crafted gear – or craft it yourself! – which would surpass the current “normal raid” version. Yet, where’s fun in that?..

The point is, you’re free to do what you will with your time in game – challenging or casual raiding, removing all quest marks from the map, farming currency and mounts, earning gold through crafting and gathering, or even main a Fisher job.

WoW was a lot more demanding: every next patch they give you a new playground which you need to grind to the bone throughout months – whatever you like to do. Never, ever your previous raid gear was enough to queue for the new raid – so as the new patch rolls out, you’re bound for dailies.

Everything you collected so hard during raids turns into pumpkin upon new patch release, being gradually replaced by some green stuff from a new faction vendor for some brand new currency. And if you want to login and see the story after a long break by expansion’s end – well, God bless you. You just can’t enter the final raid without a serious grind.

Still, even if FFXIV is a lot less demanding and actually doesn’t require ANYTHING from you, I’m still picking some WoW gameplay patterns that I feel comfortable with. I like my gear to matter, so I’d never buy it from market/auction, but rather earn it in weekly raid resets. I like my small progress grinds, so I’d definitely do all the new tribes, and Manderville/Dawntrail combat weapons (not tools though, no, it’s too much). What is most important, is that I see now: once my catch up is done, I’ll have PLENTY of time on my hands. A weekly raid for a couple of hours, a round of current dailies for 10 minutes… Even with the relic weapon grinds, it doesn’t take you from patch to patch, no.

In other words, FFXIV is, as advertised, not a game that aims to steal your life – in fact, you can find yourself in a situation that you WANT to play more FFXIV, but you’re out of things to do :) That encourages you to try new modes, new aspects, or get busy with other games and IRL hobbies and activities.

Ironically, with all the catch up I haven’t experienced this relaxing mode just yet :) My leveling dungeon grinds could be compared with my worst times in WoW. So I’m quite excited to finally climb to the top of the mountain, look back, and finally be free ) Not that the current process is painful, mind, I’m just really excited about reaching the MMO experience that doesn’t require all your evenings and weekends. And the ending of Endwalker, and Dawntrail in full is gonna be exactly this as far as I can see. Can you imagine?

Leave a comment