FFXIV: The Final Endwalker Patch 6.55 Incoming

In a few minutes, FFXIV is off for a day-long maintenance and installation of the final Endwalker patch 6.55. I’d like to talk about my expectations and my own personal progress checkpoints.

As previous expansions go, the x.55 patches are quite short storywise. Normally it’s just a couple of quests (although, by FFXIV tradition, every story quest is quite long and laden with cutscenes and dialogues). By this point, the current expansion’s problems are effectively wrapped up, all the expansion’s major villains defeated, and these two quests are basically a bridge to the new expansion. The major conflict (and often villains and new friendly characters) of the next expansion are introduced here, setting the stakes and our next destination.

This far, we already know what this is gonna be about, judging by trailer and final MSQ cutscene so far. A stranger – a female hrothgar – arrives from the new western continent to seek help in their game of thrones. Krile, one of the Scions, gets a spot in the highlight, as she’s bound there to explore the whereabouts of her grandfather which vanished at this very continent. So I guess these couple of quests will introduce us all to each other and form some sort of coalition to travel to the new lands. As Scions are announced to split up and work against each other in this endeavor, maybe we will see the initiate rift already.

What I’m most intrigued to see is if there’s gonna be yet another dungeon. Previously, it was a culmination of these final patches, quite bitter and raising the stakes to the skies, accompanied by heartbreaking cutscenes after. Yet it was exactly a bridge, tied both to current and new expansions alike. But this time? I don’t know. All current enemies are defeated, the new ones are supposed to be met at the new continent, so if I were to guess, I’d expect something like “forbidden sections” of Sharlayan library or a forgotten archaeological site, as we will start to unravel Krile’s grandfather’s story. Or there might not be any new dungeon at all – breaking the tradition for the first time in FFXIV history. We’ll have to see tomorrow!

The next thing to drop is a sequel to Hildibrand’s adventures – a silly slapstick questline series, which unlocks Relic weapons in Endwalker and their upgrades with every next patch. I’m not sure I will grind weapons to level max, but the story is worth seeing every time.

And finally, tribal quests will get a uniting questline which will upgrade your reputation with Arkasodara, Omicrons and Loporrits to Allied (final one) and bring new goods to their vendors. These stories from previous expansions are very well written, so I expect it with eager – and I have all reputations leveled, so I can get there immediately. Well, these would be my major highlights that I’m expecting tomorrow.

As always, the new patch content is mostly one-time for me (that is, stories), and I’ll proceed with my routines once MSQ and other stories are done.

Let’s see where I am today:

Gear: I’m farming Thaleia raid weekly, it’s just two runs and a shiny new gear slot of 650. Technically, I might abandon it whenever I please, and just buy gear, but why not? Honing skills in raid environment, fun and quick runs. As for rings, I’m buying a couple more 650s for currency, and done.

Weapons – I’d definitely grind currency for Hildibrand ones, both for ilvl and unlocking glams. Too bad it’s the very same dungeons, too good is that income is great – it’s a new weapon/upgrade once in 2 days. At any rate, all 560s must become at least 615. All in all, I’m aiming at 640+ – which will be more than enough to start the new expansion and feel confident there.

Leveling – I’m at somewhat final stages here. I manage to chip away 4-5 levels daily across both alts, so the end of January or first half of February seems to be a valid milestone where I can look back – my catch-up will be finally done! Crafters and gatherers are all good: I have full 620 gear, all jobs leveled, so totally ready for the new expansion in that department.

Tribal Quests – only ARR-factions left to go, and considering we need only Trusted (that is, only 3 bars to fill), it’s gonna be over soon too.

If not for Hildibrand weapons – I’m looking at a big pre-expansion lull this month. And I’m quite happy about that :) The catch-up (leveling and gearing up) process is not that tedious as it’s been in WoW, and yet it takes its toll. Luckily, Dawntrail promises to be a lot more relaxing because the major job will be done.

See you on the other side – I’ll be back with 6.55 review as usual!

Leave a comment