Managing Many Alts

Alliance
My Alliance Alts

Tonight we talk about alts!

There are many reasons why people start their alts, which can be divided into 4 major groups.

Reason 1: Dividing roles. For example, one alt is for PvP and the other is for raiding. One alt is for healing and the other is DPS.

Reason 2: Profit! Your alts can provide this in many ways: get you some gold, resources, bank slots or they craft items for your main. In other words, they are nameless supporting pixel sacks.

Reason 3: New experience. It shares something with the first point, but not exactly. You want to try a new class, a new spec, a new role. You don’t plan this toon because your raiding group needs an Enhancement Shaman with fiery AoE, you want to try and smash someone’s face with thunder axes because fun!

Reason 4: Roleplay. It may not be played to the bone, like you’re always talking “Oh mylord, I grant thee this Apexis…”. I’m talking of situations when you simply must have a Night Elf – Druid, because it fits so much. And you try to play this druid in Greenpeace style, eagerly accepting quests about guarding nature.

====================

What about me?

Reason 4: By all means Mayluna was born as a combination of Night Elf – Druid type. Definitely Melaris was born because I liked Yrel and I wanted to play a Draenei. For sure Schlitzchen was born under impression of Goblin starting questline (Shaman – Tropic Jungle – Thrall) and is my Horde’s engineer because she’s a Goblin. And so on.

When I create a new character, I invent some background for it and of course their names must totally fit the race. Never, never, ever I will have such pathetic shite as Aarthas, Alexmage or Healingshammie among my toons.

Reason 3: When you’re tired of spamming one and the same rotation, you want to try a new class with completely new view on the game. The biggest barrier here is melee/range: I was always a range and caster type player in every game, so when it came to trying a melee, I started a paladin. Because it could self heal, which is a backup.

My Horde Alts
My Horde Alts

Reason 2: a smaller reason, played to this extent: my Alliance and Horde toons are like small guilds-in-itself, considering craft. They share all the random resources among each other. They craft all the needed things: gear, armor, chants, gems and flasks because all have different professions within factions. They collect gold for some big thing, like a 100k Alliance chopper. So I never need any support of this kind from the guild. But I never thought that any of my toons is here only for gems or flasks that they craft. Gems are a side effect of my cool warlock Microfury, not the reason she came to life.

Reason 1: not my thing.

====================

How To Manage This Many Alts?

Well, I have as many toons as one realm allows – 11. And all of them are equally developed. They all have Epic Rings from BRF and going to HFC for the next step. You can’t easily tell main from alts if you see thier progress and gear. So, these are my small tips for alt management:

1. Know your goals. Why do you make this alt and what is most important about it? Head for it.

2. Make a small chart. If my goal is equal development, I would make a chart of Goals, and fill it on completion. Then you easily see which toon needs more tomes, more ship missions, more equipment, more reputation. You see which one falls back and needs your attention. That’s how I pick the one who will go to LFR tonight and do some dailies.

3. Enjoy. It may contradict with the previous points, but it is more important. When you have many alts, listen to yourself at login screen. Your rogue doesn’t have Oil for ships, but you’d rather nuke from afar tonight? Take your caster or hunter. You need your miner to gather ore but you don’t want to farm it now? Go tank a raid or PvP.

4. Love your alts. Well, just do it. Even farming is funnier when it’s not Aargtsf doing it, but your cool blacksmith from Silvermoon Ilmari.

Leave a Reply

