Plastic Toon Surgery, Or What Happened To Your Face?

Yesterday I devoted like an hour polishing the new looks for my characters.

The main problem goes as follows: model reboot is not only improving the looks, it changes the toons’ characters as well. So it appeared that some of my toons like visited a psychologist and completely changed their personality. I couldn’t leave it like that, so I spent huge amounts of gold polishing their outlook.

Schlitzchen, Chitsuro and Ilmari, being respectively a goblin, a pandaren and a blood elf, for obvious reasons didn’t participate in the marathon. But others were changed.

The additional difficulty is that you mostly see your character’s face at the login screen, and it differs a bit from the game. So the new face has to look good everywhere. When selecting a new face, I chose one that I like, then logout, see how it looks at login, and then login again.

And here’s what we’ve got.

Micromantica1

Micromantica the Gnome Mage. She’s probably the only toon that was left as she was. Her new looks are the most kawaii thing I saw in the last months (and I saw a stroller filled with 9 Chinchilla cats in Japan, mark you!). When she runs, her jumping pigtails make me cry with tears of emotion (literally!).

Microfury1

Microfury the Gnome Warlock. The new face is actually very good, but she appeared to be pretty sinister. So I changed her to a more calm face, although her eyes are now brown, not blue.

Backston1

Backston the Human Warrior. That was tough. She spent a THOUSAND of gold, testing this and that looks. Still, I didn’t get what I wanted. The reason is, that the new style of drawing humans makes them look 2 ways: it’s either a redneck simpleton or a heavy drug user with sunk-in cheeks and sharp cheekbones. Moreover, it seems that Tyson Murphy is a fan of actor Evan Peters because all human girls resemble him this or that way! I tried and tried. Tried and tried. I managed to find a face pretty enough, but still it has almost nothing to do with a smooth round beauty Backston once was.

Mayluna1

Mayluna the Night Elf Druid. Her automatically updated face has such a vague and silly outlook that she seems to be asking: Whaaaa… Can I color my purse pink please? Actually there was a very good choice from new Night Elf females. All types of emotions, so the main trick here was to combine the night elven corpsepaint and the new face to go together. Still, at character selection screen her eyes shine very bright and spoil all the looks a bit :=) At least she’s very cool in-game now.

Salash1

Salash the Orc Huntress. Her old face was prettiest of all options, but the renewed one also had vague silly looks. So I changed her to a more focused and orcish-brutal. Was easy.

Rottenshield1

Rottenshield the Undead Warrior. I chose the prettiest and neutral face cause the renewed one was sly and sinister. There’s a small drawback cause she’s so tall and bony and having banshee-Marge Simpson-like haircut and current shoulder plates don’t help much too. Maybe I will review her again, but for now she’s so disproportional and awkward.

Zindari1

Zindari the Troll Rogue. Many options for troll females, but only one face was “pretty”. She’ll stay with the automatically updated one, cause the rest are uglier (in a good way). After all, I started a troll female after I saw a stunning beauty at a Zangarmarsh Horde camp. But I guess I have to get used to it, because – well, she’s a troll, not a super-model.

As for gameplay: the rotations for all chars became very smooth and cool now, but I’m killing mobs with 2 blows. Too easy?..

Have you guys changed the models of your characters?

Leave a Reply

