See for Yoursacks – Bag System Changes in Draenor

Royal Satchel

 

I’m happy to say now that today Micromantica was the first to complete her goals before Draenor among my chars. For her, it included profession-based goals (as my first char, she was already geared up in SoO and had most achievements). She crafted pants and belts to wear for herself and Microfury (my warlock), and since that she was busy making bags for Alliance chars. 

Royal Satchel, the biggest “normal bag” so far, requires 12 days to be done: 12 days of crafting Imperial Silk which is character-bound so you can’t buy it at Auction House. Normally it’s 1-3 satchels for each char: you already have a backpack, 1 or 2 profession-assigned bags and of course a portable fridge (it’s still a question if I keep it in WoD when food won’t be so important part of the gameplay). 

The post is dedicated to the bag system changes which we will have at Warlords of Draenor. 

There are 2 major changes for the bags, as you probably know.

First, is Clean-Up option. That’s definitely worth it. By clicking one button, all items in you bag are re-grouped so that you have similar items in a row:

Group_Bag

 

This puts an end to re-arranging items again and again of course. Although it doesn’t answer the question: what if I want to place equipment first, not the food? 

Second, is bag assignment. You may assign each of your bags to a certain type of things. And it’s very questionable if I will use this option. 

Bag_Choice

Let’s see the variables: Equipment, Consumables, Trade Goods and Junk. 

Equipment: I personally don’t see the need to assign a special bag for it. Normally I do not carry any of the equipment with me. When I get a new item from a quest, a dungeon or a raid, it’s being put on me immediately (if it’s better than mine), disenchanted in the spot or waits till the next vendor I meet to be sold. So all in all, equipment = junk. If I craft or get an item of a level that my character hasn’t reached yet, it simply waits for it in the bank. And very few things that are used time by time like a plough or a fishing rod simply take their top places in my backpack (My backpack = “Important items that don’t go anywhere for a while”). 

Consumables: I think it involves food, flasks, scrolls and bandages. Flasks, scrolls and bandages are always put in my backpack (because they are “Important items that don’t go anywhere for a while”). For food, we have a fridge. I think I will use this option to gather all these things in one place if there will be no need to save a big place for a fridge in WoD. 

Trade Goods: I’m not sure what they mean. If it’s “things you could sell at AH” – then it maybe useful. But where do character-bound items go then? And not for all of your things you want to waste time at AH. Also, imagine you craft a green item to wear. Where it will be assigned if you have both equipment and trade goods bags? Not clear yet.

Junk: Definitely worth it. Those gray items are a vermin that swarms all over your free space. You can definitely find a tooth or a fish scale in your backpack from time to time which traveled with you for like 7 levels since when you killed that occasional snake in the river. But it never solves the problem of potentially-good items which are vendor trash nevertheless. I’m talking under-geared equipment, and I’m talking Skewered Peanut Chicken here. So it doesn’t free you from the bag cleaning. 

All in all, I’m happy that Blizzard makes changes to the bag system. But we will see how this new system will work.

Which bags do you use? Will you use these new options and do you find them convenient?

Leave a Reply

