10 Years, 10 Questions

Although I already mentioned some points in my previous posts, I would gladly contribute my experience for a documentary – a hilarious idea.


1. Why did you start playing Warcraft?

Warcraft started for me from W2 RTS games. From the very start I liked the Lord of the Rings-like universe, all the clash with orcs and elves and humans. As I moved throughout the RTS campaigns, both in W2 and then W3, a strong desire to get more of these stories evolved, so it definitely led me into the MMORPG. It was like: “Wow! Now I can run through this world by my own feet and explore it as I like!”. Blizzard eagerly helps with that, expanding the world and delivering more cool stories which also spin like a real history.
A big post with pictures on the theme :)

2. What was the first ever character you rolled?

It was a Gnome Rogue – I liked the sneaking style of game very much, but then around lv 60 I rolled my favourite class – a Gnome Frost Mage. Although I have many chars now (it’s 10: 5 Horde and 5 Alliance, all different classes and races), my heart always belongs with ice magic and gnomes.

3. Which factors determined your faction choice in game?

At the time I started playing, Gnomes were the only tiny race of all, so I chose the Alliance side. I like Alliance for their overall cheerfullness, and I like their cities because they are not spikes and skins and catacombs :) But when playing Horde you learn their part and their approach to the world, so now I keep balance for my chars – it’s 5 and 5 for every faction.

4. What has been your most memorable moment in Warcraft and why?
The strongest feelings come from your first steps – your first gloves, your first green item, your choice of profession, your first crafts and all. So rolling a new character is always very much exciting.

5. What is your favourite aspect of the game and has this always been the case?
It’s definitely lore. There are many, many questlines in each and every zone, and a major story unique for every expansion. So even in raids I’m enjoying how the story spins further. My Frost Mage, the most successful character, is Loremaster and Explorer – I dig up every questline with her I can find. Running the same quests with the next chars is less exciting of course, but as I know all the quests already, I simply choose an appropriate path for them: t.ex., a night elf druid is gladly involved in nature-saving quests, a goblin shaman likes all the tinkering and making a big bomb quests, and so on.

6. Do you have an area in game that you always return to?

The lands of Khaz Modan, although Loch Modan was destroyed by Deathwing and is not as spectacular now as it was before. Favourite zone is of course Dun Morogh, with a dwarf capital of Ironforge, peaceful and cozy village of Kharanos, vivid new town of gnomes and all the sunny cheerful atmosphere with the crusting snow. It’s like Christmas Eve all the time here.

7. How long have you /played and has that been continuous?
Due to my laptop downgrade at one moment, I quit playing at the times of Lich King expansion when I had my gnome rogue at level 61 and my gnome frost mage at level 76. Then I returned at Cataclysm and since that I play constantly. I’ve developed 6 chars up to 90 and latest raids, and 4 more are in Northrend now, leveling fast and trying to hit level cap before WoD.

8. Admit it: do you read quest text or not?
Yes! That’s my main point of interest, and while questing you understand what’s going on in the world, you understand factions, races and communities. You simply cannot miss yet another piece of lore.

9. Are there any regrets from your time in game?

I guess it’s stretched time. Could be hard to explain. You know, when you level up or develop a profession very fast, and suddenly you’re stuck at some point. You can’t reach out from the same damn level or stuck between 405 and 415 profession skill points, and it seems you’ll never make it! I had no problems with leveling up 5 of my chars till 90, but I used the character boost on my warlock at her level of 87. Yes, those 3 levels at the point seemed a Great Chinese Wall! I’m also getting tired of waiting for raids and daily quests (though Pandarian dailies are more fun than those before). And grinding BC and WotLK reputations is of course annoying.

10. What effect has Warcraft had on your life outside gaming?
I’m happy to say I’ve reached balance between my personal life and gaming. We live together with my girlfriend, and she’s not a gamer at all. We had an agreement 3 years ago that if WoW becomes obsessive and will bother our life, I reduce it or even quit. Luckily she understands that everyone must have his hobby (and she has some too which I totally accept and support). So although I play pretty much, we never had an argument about it. At one point I had to explain that a raiding or dungeon party requires some time to finish the run, because others depend on me. But I never queue for it now if I know that there are household chores coming or we’re about to go outside or watch a movie. I don’t feel like I must take my laptop to play in hotels when we travel, so although it’s a major hobby, a big part of my life, it doesn’t interfere with my normal activities.

Leave a Reply

